Tags

, , ,

View at a perfect spot…

So it says a lot when I come back from visiting somewhere and I cannot think of one word to say to describe it. NOT because it was horrid – in fact, no! Because it was SO perfect that I am filled with a serene feeling of blissful quiet peace :)

A miracle! I know! My ex-hubby should have dragged me here YEARS ago!

While I re-learning to string descriptive words together and formulate a clear thought… let’s talk about the one thing that one cannot live without for long… the one thing that always is there… the one thing that gets you through hard times and tough moments… I am not talking about friends, love or God… I am talking about GREAT FOOD :)

You’re gonna wanna know where this is… I know!

Five days in a little town in Northern Italy will make sure you understand that talking about FOOD is NOT meaningless small talk!

So to inspire you…

Parmesan Mousse:
 Served with: a nice twist on one of my favorites… asparagus baked in olive oil and salt and sprinkled with a small bit of parmesan… thin slices of proscuitto or parma ham… and then a scoopful of parmesan mousse to complete.  (GREEN asparagus, by the way, for my Dutch friends!)
– think creamy like butter, tangy like parmesan, and yummy like heaven

Perfect light lunch

Artichoke and Gorgonzola Salad:
– a deep dish filled with a layer of thinly sliced tomatoes, covered with three or four small little mini-baked potatoes (cooled), two or three artichoke hearts sliced in half, three or four pieces of green asparagus cooked al dente and cooled, and three or four (okay, four or five) slices of gorgonzola cheese… cut about 2 inches long and 1/4 inch wide.
– serve with olive oil and balsamico, pepper… and a nice crisp white wine served very chilled :)

Red Tagliolini with zucchini:
– Red tagliolini mixed with zucchini (cut into strips the size and width of golf tees). The zucchini is al dente after a bit of time in the pan with olive oil, garlic and GINGER
– Serve with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese and a nice Valpolicella :)

Just because the dining room looks like this, doesn’t mean the food is not INCREDIBLE!

Crème Brûlée to cry over:
I once told someone that a really good Crème Brûlée can be better than.. well… YOU KNOW… THAT!… Especially if that session of well… you know… isn’t done with the sort of finesse that goes into making Crème Brûlée… Sigh… Crème Brûlée takes commitment and care of details… and can be SOOOOOO Good.
– So if you already have  a good recipe for Crème Brûlée… then lucky girl! And make it even better by pouring a shot of Kahlua over it right before serving :)

Needless to say… I am in a food daze…

Taking a pre-dinner break with a cold glass of the local vino bianco

