A great description of the ins and outs of enjoying Dutch cafe culture by a fellow expat and my friend :)

Frankly Living

Our lifestyle in Amsterdam is very different than the lifestyle we left in California.  One of the biggest adjustments for me was transitioning from a full-time job to a life of relative underemployment.  I did some volunteering and I still do a little work in conjunction with partners back in Oakland, but when Eric leaves for work each morning it is not uncommon for me to be alone until he comes home from work in the evening.

To offset this alone-time and in a concerted effort to maintain my sanity, I made a few friends with whom I meet up regularly for coffee dates or lunches.  It is always nice to get out of the apartment for a few hours, and it is hard to beat the company of a good girlfriend!

When we first moved, I met two different American women with whom I would meet fairly regularly, but…

View original post 518 more words

