Tags

, , , , ,

Welcomed home by a beautiful city!

Welcomed home by a beautiful city!

I know that serious writers will laugh at me when I say that my writer’s block has not come from lack of desire or inspiration, but due to simple exhaustion, a flood of spreadsheets, and a bit of a mental cave in after 8 months of emotional grenades and their accumulated feeling-shrapnel.

No excuses… I know. A serious writer has discipline.

I promise I do! I just have to sometimes apply mine to what pays the bills ;)

Mr. T, wondering what those car things and palm trees are all about...

Mr. T, wondering what those car things and palm trees are all about…

Mostly…

I’m waiting for someone to invent the iPad app where I can plug my dreams into the blog, so that you can have crazed adventures with me. Or simply even what I am contemplating while out walking Mr. T…

Reality is slow to catch up though – it’s been all about that seasonal craze of work. Six weeks in California… Mexican food… work… salsa… work… mexican food…. driving big cars (do you KNOW how much time I lost each day in a CAR?????)… work… cutting checks… counting inventory… rushing in to rescue… And now… sigh… now… deep breath… sigh… Now it’s about sleep, dreams, pink-purple sunsets, recuperating, rejuvenating, and laughing at the antics of Mr. T.

We did find time for a walk along Coronado Bay. Mr. T was too hot for much more!

We did find time for a walk along Coronado Bay. Mr. T was too hot for much more!

I’ve never been one to fear or shy away from hard work. This year seemed to be especially intense with little time for soaking up the Cali sun with your feet up… I guess when you couple 16-hour work days with emotional chaos due to major family health issues… well… ‘barely smiling’ seems to sum it up.

But I am starting to feel the healing effects of deep sleep, long walks with Mr. T along the Amsterdam canals, healthy food, my own bed… and as my California tan fades, so does the sense of ‘go-go-go-go.’

I can begin to breathe.

And Amsterdam has for sure done it’s bit to make me feel welcomed and at home – after months of cold and rain, I landed at Schiphol to find sun and blue skies above the canals lined with lushly rich green leaves. What a homecoming!

Last view of San Diego...

Last view of San Diego…

This summer may not hold as many exotic travels as last summer… but I don’t think that means no adventures :)

Stay tuned!

:)

 

 

Seriously, why would I not be ecstatic to call this place 'home'?

Seriously, why would I not be ecstatic to call this place ‘home’?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This about says it all, I Amsterdam

This about says it all, I Amsterdam

