Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Fall AmsterdamFall is not something I knew growing up in South Africa and California. Fall was something you saw in the movies, it was color schemes you saw in picture books. It’s what you did when you found love.

It is now one of my favorite things of life in Amsterdam, and one I will likely miss most.

Yes, I bet if my life was ‘standard’ and I had to bike to work at 7:30am when it is still dark, or if I had to worry about sweeping up leaves, I may detest it. But I am lucky and I just get to savor and enjoy.

Fall AmsterdamDays when it is not raining, when the sun peeks out… it’s more than luck.

And at times like now…. When there are days one feels blue and blah, to go outside and be surrounded by orange and red, to have gold fall like snow on you as you walk, the rustle on the pavement… the swoosh swoosh of the leaves… Well, it helps to leave the blue behind and be surrounded by golden yellow red.

One of my favorite spots to go for a walk with Mr. T. Especially this time of year!

One of my favorite spots to go for a walk with Mr. T. Especially this time of year!

Every path is inviting!

Every path is inviting!

Every seat is a temptation to watch the leaves fall

Every seat is a temptation to watch the leaves fall

Every rustle is an invitation to play

Every rustle is an invitation to play

Every canal is breathtaking

Every canal is breathtaking

