Tags

, , , , ,

Gourmet RhapsodyNovember is always for me a time to get some reading in… between airplanes rides to see family for Thanksgiving, or long weekends, it was a time to catch up on the one thing I did not get enough of when I worked as assistant principal – time for leisure reading!

A bit more flexible schedule these days, but still – Novemeber is a time to curl up with a good book :)

  • Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery
    If you loved and adored The Elegance of the Hedgehog, then this is a must read. Actually book 1 in the series, it has the same characters and the sam building in Paris that features in Hedgehog, this novel is just from the perspective of the food critic. I’ll be honest and say it didn’t floor me in the same way that Hedgehog  did, but the book is from the perspective of a FOOD CRITIC IN PARIS :) There are whole chapters devoted to the pleasure of a good bread, or the plump happiness to be found with a tomato. And let’s face it, Barbery’s writing is a gourmet rhapsody cooked with words.
  • The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano
    It took me a while to get into this book that has a pretty dark opening – maybe because my own current state of mind is in search of light… But once I was hooked, I couldn’t put it down! An incredible tale of the scars that we carry with us from youth, love, and the consequences of decisions.
  • The Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    This was a recommendation from a reader-friend of mine and WOW. Stunning, amazing, and simple story of a family caught between cultures, traditions, and ways of life. Set in Nigeria, it is a beautiful tale that grips you not because of the plot twists and surprises, but because of the characters that you just want to know better and fall in love with.
  • The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank
    You all probably know this one. I’ve read it in middle school, but when my friend H came to visit and bought a copy after our visit to the Anne Frank House, it inspired me to re-read this piece. So stunning and intense now that I have the perspective of an adult, and have lived in Amsterdam for 3 years. It’s a bit crazy to have her describe something and to think… “I know where that is and I have walked down that street.” Or… to now have several times in the annex where she and her family had hidden… to have walked through those tiny rooms. Definitely worth the re-read.
  • my father's husbandMy Father’s Husband: A Novel by Elloise Bennett (Hey, that’s ME!)
    This tale of a woman who journeys emotionally and geographically as she learns about love, acceptance, marriage and relationship is my current favorite :) Set in San Diego and Amsterdam, it’s a memoir-travel-writing-fiction piece that deals with having gay parents, adultery in marriage, and discovering what matters in relationships and families.
